COLLEGE OF NATURAL AND SOCIAL SCIENCES

Administration

Dean: James Daichendt, Ed.D. Office: Bond Academic Center, Deans' Suite Telephone: (619) 849-2706 Fax: (619) 849-7018 Email: gdaichen@pointloma.edu Director of Operations: Marvin Milian

General Information

The College of Natural and Social Sciences centers on areas of study at Point Loma Nazarene University that focus on preparation in the social sciences and professions. Programs in the natural and social sciences are offered through eight academic departments. Course offerings in the natural and social sciences are designed to help students explore a wide range of people-related, theoretical, and practical knowledge and skills. The college's highly qualified faculty members are professionally active and committed to engaging students in the learning experience. By emphasizing the university's mission to engage and challenge minds, to form and model character, and to see service as an expression of faith, the faculty challenge students to become life-long learners, to value the process of personal and intellectual development, and to give their lives in meaningful service to others.

Centers

Point Loma Nazarene University maintains the following centers within the organization of the College of Natural and Social Sciences:

- The Center for Justice and Reconciliation
- The Early Childhood Learning Center

Accreditations and Affiliations

For information about Accreditations and Affiliations, please click here (https://pointloma-public.courseleaf.com/grad-catalog/about-the-university/accreditation-affiliations-state-authorization-/).

Academic Organization

The College of Natural and Social Sciences, under the direction of the dean of the College, functions with the supervision of academic departments, schools, and centers. The following is a list of chairs, directors, and deans in the college.

Departments

Department of Biology - Dawne Page, chair Department of Chemistry - Matthieu Rouffet, chair Department of Mathematical, Information, and Computer Sciences -Maria Zack, chair

Department of Physics and Engineering - Maria Zack, chair Department of Psychology - Kendra Oakes-Mueller, chair Department of Sociology, Social Work, and Family Sciences - Kevin Modesto, co-chair; Susan DeCristofaro Rogers, co-chair

Centers

The Center for Justice and Reconciliation - Kim Berry Jones, director

The Early Childhood Learning Center - Susan DeCristofaro Rogers, academic director

Curricula

Students should refer to the information in this catalog for a complete listing of program characteristics, degree requirements, and course descriptions offered by academic areas within the College of Natural and Social Sciences.